R.I.P. Neil Armstrong (August 5, 1930 – August 25, 2012)

Just a few moments of seriousness. I’m a geek and I love sci-fi and all that it entails. I have since I can remember and the fact that human beings have actually walked on the Moon has always been amazing to me. It wasn’t fiction, it was real, and so things like Star Trek could also be real one day. That’s what that meant to me (and look how many Star Trek-y things we actually have so far!) Neil Armstrong was the first human being to ever set foot on the Moon. He set his foot down on the gray, dusty ground and said, “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.” Mankind. All of us. Every single human inhabitant of this planet. Whatever the United States’ reasons for sending men to the Moon (I know, so we could say we beat Russia there. Yippee fucking skippy. I guess that was a big deal back then.) the people that made it happen, and the men that actually set foot there, did it for everyone. They did it to expand our minds. They did it to take a step toward learning more about something so much greater than all of us. They did it for the shear joy of it. Thank you, Mr. Armstrong, for being brave and taking that first step. You will be remembered. Rest In Peace in the heavens you once traveled.

Leave a Reply

